[Trans] Full Excite music Interview with CNBLUE following the release of the 9th single White

int01_01

Q1: The title song White, with synth phrase being the highlight, came as a surprise . Composed by Jonghyun, when did you start working on it?

JH: Last year, around the time we had our(【CNBLUE 2014 ARENA TOUR“WAVE”】. Also during Kingdom ( [2014 FNC KINGDOM IN Japan – STARLIGHT – ] ),a lot of times really; I made this song thinking “I want to make LIVE more enjoyable”. The making process is always the same, first I come up with a phrase using the guitar then trying different arrangements on the computer. At first it wasn’t such an intense song, but rather than doing it with half measures, I just thought “Go for it!”.

Q2: Something like, ‘Just take the plunge’?

JH: Yes (laugh). But maybe I overdid it. About this single’s whole frame(story) if there’s “color” already, then except color what else is there? Thinking like that, came up with the White theme.

Q3: Reading the lyrics, maybe freedom appears as White? That’s what I thought, but what image does the color White project for you?

JH: Light has 3 primary colors, but doesn’t light become white by combining different colors? However,by combining various colors it becomes black too. So keeping that in mind, lately isn’t everyone turning dark when overthinking? So, 「Let’s be the light!」 -that is the theme.
JS: For me JH had a strong image as a ballad maker. For example Eclipse, Foxy.This time White is completely different from our past songs, I felt it was an exceptional transformation. But when I heard this song for the first time, just by listening the opening the atmosphere was totally different from past songs. But, hearing it several times I thought it’s really good.
MH: Just like JS said, about JH’s song-making style, I like songs like Eclipse and Blind Love,Never too late, but hearing White I was really surprised. I felt he’s challenging new things.The synthesized sound was used a lot, when I first heard it I thought “Is this our (style of) song?” it’s a bit different from our past works, new as well.

YH: I also thought it’s a bit different from the songs JH usually makes, and CNBLUE will come across with a slightly different image than before. I think the repetition of the lead sound (synth) is quite appealing.
JS: I’m really looking forward to know how fans will feel listening this song.

Q4: JS, did you think how will your performance add-up to the charm of this song?
JS: You know those feelings JH pursued for the song? I will perform trying to match those feelings.
MH: I also, regardless of the song we are recording, think “I want to match this song”. But, later in the making process the timbre gets retouched,rather than being concerned about matching/not matching, might as well perform freely. That’s why,lately, I perform just how I feel at that time.

Q5: When those emotions of wanting to be honest spring forth, does that consciousness make you stronger?
MH: That’s right.

Q6: The members said they were surprised -it was something new. Is this what you intended, JongHyun?
JH Yes, I might even say it’s fun. I might come off as a pervert (laugh)

Everyone laughs.

JH: I’m sure fans that know the original CNBLUE will be surprised after listening it.

Q7: Did you want to surprise everyone?
JH: No,at first I didn’t, but while making it, slowly, those feelings sprouted too.

Q8: Last year in September the album Wave was released, a work of art with a refined sound.Around that time you thought about coming out with a slightly different single; did the enthusiasm to show a new side become stronger?

JH: No…I asked the members for advice, I didn’t think very seriously about it. Our music has been around for 10 years, isn’t it natural for changes to happen? Doesn’t everyone think the same? Besides music, everyone’s the same when doing something, while doing it you strive to do it better. Experience is important, after all.

MH: I agree with JH.

JS: I think you need to let things happen naturally. Don’t force the changes, they will happen with the passing time. Of course there might be intentional changes too, but this time, I(we) didn’t think “I don’t have to change”.

YH: Even though there has to be progress, I can go on without intentionally holding the desire “to move forward”. Just feeling whatever my body feels.

Q9: The music video was filmed just recently (interview in February). Looking at the footage, a mysterious WHITE MAN appears; how was it, having a co-star?

YH: …… the identity was really unknown, right?

JH: Yes,really. I enjoyed dancing until the end. He was a very energetic person.

MH: Mr White was very stylish, a wonderful fashionista.

JS: There was a heroine in our past MVs, but many times only the 4 of us appeared.I felt it was something different having Mr White as a co-star this time.

YH: Even tough we didn’t see the finished MV, I was left with the impression that the lights were really pretty.

int02_01

Q10: In March YongHwa’s solo album was released. Being active as actors as well, the individual activities are wide- ranging. About that, is there any change concerning CNBLUE as a band?

JS: CNBLUE is like a second family to me. Solo activities aside,having a good place to come back to when things are difficult, when being tired from solo activities just looking at the members faces makes you feel relieved, then return to work,it’s like coming back home.

JH: I don’t think about CNBLUE activities as “work’. Members work individually, here (as CNBLUE) we play around. Doing that we can gain energy and do more work. Looking around me, I can’t easily find people who work harder than my members. That’s why, seeing the members do their best, I think life is meant for learning and “Let’s do our best together”.

YH: ……。

JS: (looking at YH) What’s that expression? (laugh)

YH: Just that it’s kinda ticklish(embarrassing) ……。

JS: (laugh) In magazine interviews we get asked quite often “How do you feel about the other members” ? There are times when answering proves difficult. I feel a bit of pressure. In that aspect, we have a really deep, close relationship.

MH: You can’t survive without family and friends, everyone has them. For me CNBLUE is an existence similar to family and friends, saying it in one word, they’re like “Water”.

Q11: Is it something you can’t live without?

JH: I think it’s like that. We met during school, it will soon be a 10 year long relationship. Because we lived together since young, good or bad, it’s lonely without you. That’s the kind of existence (CNBLUE) has become.

Q12: Like a destined group, an irreplaceable existence.

MH: I want us to be a band that makes cool LIVEs and continues doing activities for a long time. That’s my dream.

YH: Sometime in the future, even after having families of our own, I want the 4 of us to get together and have a tour!

Recently, CNBLUE members are into…

int01_07

YongHwa- Car customizing

Right now I’m interested in how to decorate my car? Not buying a new car, but the one I have now and not just the interior of it, the exterior too. I want to decorate it all and change the atmosphere.Of course, it won’t be anything illegal (laughs). What will be the concept? Maybe something reminding of the style of US stars(laughs)?

JongHyun-Philosophy

int01_09

I’ve liked it for over a year now, studying from books. I like books too and serious talks. Why do we have to make money, what are we living for, I’m learning fundamental things about life. Other than that, I’m interested in economy too. But, talking about this to other people, they will see me as a strange person (laughs.) so I’m enjoying it by myself. I’ve lived without knowing anything and I want to enhance my knowledge. I have a lot to learn.

MinHyuk-Comfortable futon(mattress)

int02_07

During summer is so hot I can’t really sleep, but I love winter because I can sleep well.
Winter sleep is important so I’m looking for a comfortable futon. I’m really happy I bought one about a month ago. It feels nice,soft and warm. I’m looking for new designs for comfortable futons too.

JungShin- Fashion& Dog

int02_09

I’m guesting in a korean fashion show so I’ve become quite interested in fashion. Also, I bought a golden retriever(8 months old now) that was born in June. He’s already 34 kg, a bit big to refer to as a puppy.It‘s nice to have him welcome me when I get back home. His name is Sinba!

T/N the ……。 were written like that in the interview. I didn’t skip anything ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

source: http://ent2.excite.co.jp/music/special/2015/cnblue/interview01.html

2 thoughts on “[Trans] Full Excite music Interview with CNBLUE following the release of the 9th single White

Leave a comment